September 11th, 2012 — By — In News & Events

9th Annual Brigham-Kanner Property Rights Conference

Annually, The Property Rights Project at William & Mary Law School hosts the Brigham-Kanner Property Rights Conference and presents the Brigham-Kanner Property Rights Prize to a leading property scholar.  The 9th Annual Conference will take place October 11 & 12, 2012 at William & Mary Law School in Williamsburg, Virginia during which Professor James E. Krier will be awarded the Property Rights Prize.  The conference is designed to bring together members of the bench, bar and academia to explore recent developments in takings law and other areas of the law affecting property rights.

Professor Krier is the Earl Warren DeLano Professor of Law at University of Michigan Law School where he teaches courses on property, trusts and estates, behavioral law and economics, and pollution policy. His research is focused primarily in the fields of property law and economics, and he is the author or coauthor of several books, including Environmental Law and Policy, Pollution and Policy, and Property (7th edition).  Professor Krier’s most recent articles have been published in Harvard Law Review, Supreme Court Economic Review, UCLA Law Review, and Cornell Law Review. Prior to joining the Michigan Law faculty in 1983, he was a professor of law at UCLA and Stanford and has been a visiting professor at Harvard University Law School and Cardozo School of Law.

Professor Krier joins an illustrious list of previous recipients of the Brigham-Kanner Prize, including Professor Frank I. Michelman of Harvard Law School (2004), Professor Richard A. Epstein of the University of Chicago Law School (2005), Professor James W. Ely, Jr., of Vanderbilt Law School (2006), Professor Margaret Jane Radin of the University of Michigan Law School (2007), Professor Robert C. Ellickson of Yale Law School (2008), Professor Richard E. Pipes of Harvard University (2009), Professor Carol M. Rose, University of Arizona, James E. Rogers College of Law (2010), and most recently Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O’Connor (2011), who accepted her award during the Conference’s inaugural year abroad in Beijing, China.

Both the conference and the prize are named in recognition of Owners’ Counsel Members Toby Prince Brigham and Gideon Kanner for their ongoing private property rights work, their efforts to advance the constitutional protection of property, and their accomplishments in preserving the important role that private property plays in protecting individual and civil rights.

For more information and a schedule of events see the conference brochure.

Sharing is caring!