August 9th, 2010 — By — In News & Events

7th Annual Brigham-Kanner Property Rights Conference September 30 & October 1, 2010

The annual Brigham-Kanner Property Rights Conference presented by the William & Mary Property Rights Project and the Institute of The Bill of Rights Law will be held September 30 – October 1, 2010 at the William & Mary Law School in historic Williamsburg, VA. The Brigham-Kanner Property Rights Conference and Brigham-Kanner Property Rights Prize are named in recognition of OCA Members Toby Prince Brigham and Gideon Kanner for their lifetime contributions to private property rights, their efforts to advance the constitutional protection of property, and their accomplishments in preserving the important role that private property plays in protecting individual and civil rights. Mr. Brigham is an attorney who has specialized in eminent domain and property rights law for more than 40 years and is founding partner of Brigham Moore LLP in Florida. Professor Kanner is Professor of Law Emeritus at the Loyola Law School Los Angeles and has been a practicing appellate lawyer in eminent domain and inverse condemnation for forty years. Professor Kanner is currently Of Counsel at Mannatt, Phelps & Phillips, LLP in California.

Now in its seventh year, the conference is designed to bring together members of the bench, bar and academia to explore recent developments in takings law and other areas of the law affecting property rights. During the conference, the Project presents the Brigham-Kanner Prize to an outstanding figure in the field. Previous recipients of the Brigham-Kanner Prize include Professor Frank I. Michelman of Harvard Law School (2004), Professor Richard A. Epstein of the University of Chicago Law School (2005), Professor James W. Ely, Jr. of Vanderbilt Law School (2006), Professor Margaret Jane Radin of the University of Michigan Law School (2007), Professor Robert C. Ellickson of Yale Law School (2008) and Professor Richard E. Pipes of Harvard University (2009). (See our previous posts here and here.)

Professor Carol M. Rose of James E. Rogers College of Law at the University of Arizona will be honored with the 2010 Brigham-Kanner Property Rights Prize. Professor Rose is the Ashby Lohse Professor of Water and Natural Resource Law and the Gordon Bradford Tweedy Professor of Law and Organization, Emerita, and the Fred Johnson Chair in Property and Environmental Law, Yale Law School. Her books include Perspectives on Property Law (2d ed. 1995) (3d ed. 2002) co-author with Bruce Ackerman & Robert Ellickson) and Property and Persuasion: Essays on the History, Theory, and Rhetoric of Ownership (1994).

OCA Members Joseph T. Waldo (Virginia), James S. Burling (Pacific Legal Foundation, California) and Leslie A. Fields (Colorado) will be presenting October 1 . Mr. Waldo will participate in a panel entitled “Defining Just Compensation: How Do You Get There and What Does It Mean?” He will be joined by James W. Ely, Jr. (Milton R. Underwood Chair in Law Emeritus & Professor of History Emeritus, Vanderbilt University) and The Honorable Robert W. Wooldridge Jr. (Retired, Fairfax Circuit Court Judge and Senior Lecturer in Law, George Mason Law School). Mr. Burling and Ms. Fields will be joined by John D. Echeverria (Professor of Law, Vermont Law School) in a discussion regarding “The Uneasy Relationship Between Public and Private Property Rights.” Other speakers expected at the conference include Robert C. Ellickson (Walter E. Meyer Professor of Property and Urban Law, Yale Law School), Michael A. Heller (Lawrence A. Wien Professor of Real Estate Law, Columbia Law School), Thomas W. Merrill (Charles Evans Hughes Professor of Law, Columbia Law School), Jedediah Purdy (Professor of Law, Duke Law School), Mark Sagoff (Director and Senior Research Scholar at the Institute for Philosophy and Public Policy, University of Maryland), Daniel J. Sharfstein (Associate Professor of Law, Vanderbilt Law School), Henry E. Smith (Fessenden Professor of Law, Harvard Law School), and Laura S. Underkuffler (J. Dupratt White Professor of Law, Cornell Law School).

The conference begins on Thursday, September 30th with an evening reception and dinner in the historic Sir Christopher Wren Building, the oldest college building in the United States. The 2010 Brigham-Kanner Property Rights Prize will be awarded to Professor Rose on Thursday evening. Panel discussions will take place on Friday, October 1st at the law school. With the wealth of academic knowledge and practical experience held by this collective group of panelists, the 2010 Conference promises to be quite informative and stimulating. Participation in Thursday’s event is not required to attend the panel discussions on Friday. For more information about the 2010 conference, please see the conference brochure here or contact Kathy Pond at (757) 221-3796 or

Sharing is caring!